My Favourite Podcasts (I Can’t Believe I Am Writing This)

There was a time (think 2 months ago) when I thought podcasts were for old people and for people slightly older than me who thought podcasts were the coolest new technological thing (no offense meant – bear with me). But it’s also funny, because maybe 6 months ago, I thought the same thing about blogs. Who the heck writes a blog? And even more so – who reads them? They’re for old people trying to be cool. And don’t even get me started on iBooks.

But then I actually read a blog. Then I wrote a blog post. Then I listened to a podcast. And then I downloaded the library app on my iPad and read a free book. I was blown away.

Did I get old or less cool? It turns out neither.

Podcasts are actually super great (and super cool:) for so many reasons:

  1. I love learning about basically anything and it turns out you can find a podcast on any subject. (Yesterday I learned about Lithium and last week about Venus Fly Traps – why not!)

  2. THEY’RE FREE. Like really, morally free (unlike music).

  3. They’re super easy to access, search for and consume. Not to mention portable – even my little iPod Nano supports the Podcast app.

  4. The ultimate distraction: there is a place in my heart for running with music (namely during a race or a speed workout) but I love podcasts because they keep me entertained on long, solo runs. It’s like having a few really smart friends right there in your ear;)

In the past 1-2 months I have developed a serious podcast addiction. I now have up to 10 different stations/subjects and I get overly excited to run because I keep those podcasts solely for runs. If you’re a podcast junkie like me, then you might enjoy this little list I threw together of my favourite podcasts to date (please note that I am still a newbie to podcasts!)

FAVOURITE PODCASTS (Sept. 22/15)

  1. Serial from This American Life

    Unknown-1

    -If you’ve listened to Serial, then you know. If not, I highly recommend it. The story will pull you in immediately, but just a warning, you may develop an obsession with Adnan Syed’s case.

  2. Undisclosed

    1z8-eXeq

    -A more in-depth look at Adnan Syed’s case than Serial. If you liked Serial, you’ll love Undisclosed.

  3. Talks With Teachers by Brian Sztabnik

    cover170x170

    -This podcast is great for teachers and future teachers (or anyone interested in the education system).

  4. RunnersConnect Run to the Top with Tina Muir

    runnersconnect-podcast-artw-300x300

    -Of course, what better podcast to listen to while running than a running podcast? I love listening to these podcasts because it’s really like reading a running blog WHILE running! What could be better?!

  5. RadioLab

    radiolab-logo

    -I’m an English major and basically suck at anything science/math related, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t interest me a TON. RadioLab makes harder concepts much easier to understand.

  6. Greater Good Live

    Headphones_logo_200_187

    -Another scientific approach to many simple aspects in life – like happiness! Crazy interesting.

  7. The Marathon Show

    cover170x170-2

    -I think the name speaks for itself:)

  8. Marathon Training Academy

    cover170x170-1

    -Again, I think it speaks for itself:)

  9. Criminal

    Unknown

    -Basically Law&Order in your pocket.

Oops, I only had 9. But hopefully, that 10th spot can be filled by YOU.

I hope everybody has a fantastic Tuesday full of great food, great people and something that makes YOU feel good!

à demain!

————

Do you listen to podcasts? When did you start?

What is your favourite podcast?

One thought on “My Favourite Podcasts (I Can’t Believe I Am Writing This)

  1. Thank you so much Grace 🙂 Really appreciate the shout out! Isn’t it funny how podcasts have become cool now…..and its silly to think they weren’t for a period there!!! Love them now. If you have any suggestions or feedback, let me know 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

